Readings

Just finished reading a book: “the Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian“, a Novel by Sherman Alexie; Little, Brown and Company, New York, 2009.

the story presents an inside look of the daily life challenges of Native Americans in what is called “rez” or “reservation”, which is a twist of what is in reality closer to a “concentration camp”. A must read definitely.

I will share quotes in a series of posts, and here is the first part:

“…, I draw all the time. I draw cartoons of my mother and father; my sister and grandmother; my best friend, Rowdy; and everybody else on the rez. I draw because words are too unpredictable. \i draw because words are too limited. If you speak and writer in English, or Spanish, or Chinese, or any other language, then only a certain percentage of human beings will get your meaning. but when you draw a picture, everybody can understand it. if I draw a cartoon of a flower, then every man, woman and child in the world can look at it and say, “that’s a flower.”…”

 

 

